LSAT Prep Courses Ranked

 As we all know, this score is the most important factor in getting into law school. Obviously, this made some douche law-school drop out think he could convince law school hopefulls to sell their souls and wallets to get a good score. The bastard was right. After hours of crying and evaluation, I finally have compiled the list of the most reputable LSAT Prep courses.
1. Blueprint:
Cost: $179 per month. Even though this can add up really quick, I like this because it is so flexible: you could take the course over three months or eight, or continue your subscription after a really bad test. Most places you just pay a flat fee of roughly a grand, and then they schedule your course. Frankly, that just isn’t realistic.
The videos are really interesting as far as prep videos go, and all of their instructors fall into the 99th percentile so you know you are getting the best training possible.
You can also schedule the lessons around your schedule. There are 16 lessons with homework, workshops, and LSATs, that you schedule into your master calendar leading up to your test date. Then, there are additional tests and practices that you can add in. You can use the app on your phone or tablet or do it on your laptop, so it is super easy to squeeze in a lesson here and there. Blueprint also tracks your progress and tells you where you need help and then will design a practice set to fit that. For example, if you’re great at parallel flaw questions, but awful at main point and role questions, then you can have a practice set designed to treat those problems. Additionally, there is a 24hr help line that will answer your questions within 24 hours if you need help after the videos.
Update: In two months I have gone up 10 points and I commented on a blog post from Blueprint’s blog, Most Strongly Supported, and an actual person emailed me to answer my question and just check up on how I was doing. Real people, not automated, email all the time asking how you are doing. So even though it is online, you are still getting real people to help you, which is the best of both worlds.
2. Test Masters:
Cost: $950
The guy that teaches it has a record for perfect LSAT scores and the videos don’t seem to be too boring. You’re watching recorded lectures, but you feel like you are actually in the lecture space which is kinda cool. Test Masters also provides students with all released LSAT questions and a ton of extra materials. (If you notice that TestMasters is really similar to Blueprint in the custom service they offer to students, you’d be right. The founders of BluePrint are actually previous employees of Test Masters that started their own company and were inevitably sued. Because whats a good LSAT company if they have practiced what they’ve preached?) They also have a 24hr help line. Test Masters is the parent of Blueprint. They are older, wiser, and proven. Albeit, they are a tad more dry than Blueprint and aren’t as flexible, but it is a solid option.
3. PowerScore:
Cost: $995 (online). They have a lot of different options at different price points so you only need to pay for as much help as you need.
I don’t feel like Powerscore is as flexible as Blueprint or offers as many features, but they do seem to deliver results. Also, I’m not sure how entertaining their videos are because Blueprint gives you a free trial and Powerscore does not. That being said, I did try the Logic Games Bible and it was not as bad as other LSAT books. It is personally not my style, but I don’t do as well when I try to teach myself. From the website, they just do not seem to offer a lot of features AND personalized help. The online session is also at certain times which doesn’t offer a lot of flexibility. If you’re the type of person that just needs to have a set time/location or wont’t study, then this might be a good option. However, if that is the case, I would see if you can attend an in-class session in your area instead of doing online.
4. Lawschooli: 
Cost: varies on your schedule
Lawschooli is essentially a calendar and help forum. They give a lot of great counseling and study advice but they technically don’t teach you anything. When you pay for your materials, you essentially pay for a study schedule and use the Power Score books. I admit that the Power Score books are the best for a self-studier, but is the cost really worth the money? I feel like you could hire an education major to make a study plan for you or honestly just do it yourself.
5. Kaplan/Princeton
$1999 (there are different price options)
I am going to lump the two LSAT Prep giants in here because they are the same to me. Personally not a fan. I have not met one person that actually has found either of these courses to work in the slightest. They both teach to get you a good score and teach what is attainable. You wouldn’t enroll in a calculus course before taking algebra right? You’d fail, because it is not realistic that you could just take calculus. Well they won’t teach you to get a 170+ plus because that is also not realistic for most people. The problem is they are teaching to the lowest common denominator. So maybe for a quick refresher, or if your aiming for an average LSAT, then this would work. However, they aren’t much cheaper than the others so pay for something that offers you a lot of features. Also, the people that teach it in person where I live haven’t taken the LSAT or went to law school
LSAT Max: I’m throwing this one in at the bottom because it is technically just an app. I tried it for a while and just found the set up annoying to use. I wouldn’t consider it an in-depth study, but if you’re doing pretty well and want a little boost, this is an easy (AND FREE) option.
Result: I personally think Blueprint is the best option, but its structure is how I learn. I need somebody to tell me how and when to do something, and then track my progress. And I need them to do it in a fun way. That’s a pretty tall order, and Blueprint does exactly that. However, I do see how Test Masters and Powerscore would also be really good, if you are a more focused learner than I. If you want to be economical, buying the Powerscore books and studying yourself seems like the cheapest option. Most of these companies also offer private tutoring, so one could also study on their own and then get tutoring on a specific subject they need. It is pretty expensive, and I’d rather just take a course, but if you aren’t a poor pre-law student like myself, then have at it. If I hadn’t gone with Blueprint, I would have gone with Test Masters, because both companies main goal seems to be their students and not money. I feel like a person and not a dollar sign. I used Powerscore Logic Games for a little while and I was not improving even slightly on games. but I have a friend using it and she said it really helps. I think what is important here is to evaluate a few things:
  1. Where you are now
    1. Blueprint offers a free trial where you can take an LSAT, score it, and then they’ll explain all the questions for you.
  2. Where you want to be
  3. How much time you have
  4. How much money you can spend
  5. What kind of learner you are
Step 5 is really important because everyone learns differently. Powerscore is not really my cup of tea, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t your shot of vodka.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

